Slide Design Project

Slide Design Power Point

 

Speaker’s Outline:

  1. Life is a gift
    1. Individual purpose
    2. Birth part of plan
    3. Divine nature = gift with love of a parent
    4. Here to nurture/discover seeds of divine nature within us
  2. Why we’re here
    1. Build His Kingdom and prepare for Second Coming
    2. Divine nature refined and magnified by efforts to draw near Him
    3. Divine nature isn’t based on earth-things
    4. Divine nature was established in heaven
  3. We are loved
    1. Identify with divine nature as we feel and give His love
    2. Look out through a window, not just into a mirror
    3. Validation is vertical, not horizontal
  4. We learn
    1. Divine nature breathes desire to know eternal truths for ourselves
    2. Pray to feel his love
    3. He knows us
    4. Divine nature allows us to be a trusted disciple
    5. When we see divinity in ourselves, we begin to see it in others
  5. We serve
    1. Divine nature breathes into us a desire to serve
    2. Story of the old man in Ethiopia carrying the orphan 25 miles
    3. Divine nature within us ignites our desire to reach out and prompts us to act
  6. Conclusion
    1. The spirit whispers peace to our divine nature
    2. Prophets’ words resonate with divine nature and give us strength to follow
    3. Sacrament breathes hope into our divinity
    4. Seek to discover depth of divine nature within you to further magnify it

 

Process:

I read this talk just the other day and it really spoke to me and was exactly what I needed to hear that day.  I decided I wanted to use it for this project, so I began looking for some photos that matched some of the strong visual words used in the talk.  I found a black and white photo that I loved, and so I decided I wanted to go with that monochromatic color scheme because I feel that it’s simple yet powerful.  My audience is women of all ages.  I sketched out my photos with the words and design element as shown below.

Storyboard

 

Critique:

While not a critique on my slide show, I want to give a shout out to Becca Hancock for some excellent help in figuring out some technically challenging formatting issues.

Meghan Farner and Rachel Pearson critiqued my slide show on Facebook on Wednesday.  Meghan suggested putting the word “love” in the heart, and since Sister Peterson felt that the text was a bit crammed on that slide, I decided to go with it, and I also eliminated a couple words to help with that too.  Rachel recommended adding color to the text.  However, I was really digging the black-and-white monochromatic color scheme and Sister Peterson said it worked well, so I left that alone.  Sister Peterson also recommended that I should be more consistent with my text placement in relationship to the edges of the slides, so I went back in and tweaked several of my slides to fix that.  She also recommended only one of the words “pop” on each slide, so I changed “refine” to the smaller text.

 

Link to the talk:  https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2015/10/discovering-the-divinity-within?lang=eng

Fonts:  Dancing Script OT (Script) and Caviar Dreams (Sans Serif)

Links to Images: GiftSeedsSnowflakesLovePrayFireBeach

2 thoughts on “Slide Design Project

  1. Chris, LOVED the slideshow. I’m so glad you did it in black and white. That shows you are a very bold individual. Black and white is subtle but it makes a hug impact. You kept it simple and clean which makes your work even more crisp. I like that you did not demand color to work for you. well done.
    Here are two other wonderful blogs that I think you might like.
    https://saybethea.wordpress.com
    https://samanthaandersonblog.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great project it really came out really well. I thought the slides fit with the message that you were demonstrating with the talk. I also thought the color scheme was awesome and different because I mostly saw color in everyone’s slides and I don’t think I was bold in doing that so that was cool you did!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

