LFC Photography Activity

Outside Light
Outside Light
Inside Light
Inside Light
Foreground
Foreground
Background
Background
Rule of Thirds
Rule of Thirds
Lead Room
Lead Room

 

For my outdoor photos, I went to a park, a farm and the train tracks, all near my home.  I was happy that my daughter sat still enough for me to photograph her for my indoor lighting shot.  I didn’t have a lot of time outside to be able to perfect my foreground and background shots, so I worked with what I had on hand at home- toys.  I think they turned out quite well for having a toddler jumping on my back and a baby crawling on me!  I used the train as my shot for the lead room, because it’s facing into the photo with room to move.  The alfalfa bale is on a vertical third line in the farm photo, but it’s mostly made up of horizontal third lines, with the different layers of the farmland and the mountains.

In Lightroom, I just started out by playing around with the different settings to try to get a feel for them and what they did.  It was really hazy and dusty out, so I loved that I was able to use the dehazer to make the mountain clearer in my farm shot.  I also used the awesome synchronize shortcut to copy my adjustments from the foreground photo to the background photo.  The lighting wasn’t the greatest for those shots, so I was able to brighten in up a bit.  My favorite edit is the photo of my daughter.  I thought it was a decent profile shot to begin with, with the light from the patio on her face, but there was some shadowy furniture in the background that distracted a bit, and I was able to put that into deeper shadow.

After edits, I resized the images, added a watermark and exported them.  It did take me quite a while to get started in Lightroom; I was having some technical trouble.  But one google search and a couple quick setting changes, and I was good to go!

One thought on “LFC Photography Activity

  1. Great job on your collage I really like that you got under the train for some of your shots the lighting was great. I also really like your lead shot of the train. Good stop motion of the train. The light on your baby face is perfect. Super job on that. Keep up the great work.
    Here are so other blog you might want to check out
    https://marysblog2016.wordpress.com/category/design/
    https://pauljstudentblog.wordpress.com/2016/03/03/photographic-study-project-9a/
    Here is my blog to
    https://shawdeeblog.wordpress.com/2016/03/03/271/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

