Web Page Layout

Finished Product
Finished Product
Shape Map
Shape Map
Sketch
Sketch

Process: My husband has been fleshing out an idea of his for a website, and so I figured this would be a great opportunity to support him and help him out.  I talked to him a bit about what navigation buttons he’d like to see, and he wasn’t set on a name, so we worked together to come up with that.  From there, I drew a shape map.  I knew I wanted to use a yin yang as the logo, and I chose to repeat circles throughout to give it more unity, and they also made me think of plates, which goes along with the theme.  As I was doing my shape map, I changed it up a little bit, most mostly stuck to my sketch.  For my web design, I started out with only black and white, but knew I wanted to add some color.  I sampled a green from the green pepper in the top photo and got a few shades from there, keeping the scheme monochromatic.  I went with the greens, because they are calming which go with the theme of the website, as well as being sort of a symbol for healthy food.

Critique: Christina Carrick and Rachel Pearson critiqued my design on Facebook on Wednesday. They both recommended increasing the size of my quote, which I then did.  Christina felt that I had too much white space, but I left it because I felt that it added to the calm theme of the page.  She also recommended changing up the photos more to add additional asymmetry.  Sister Peterson also made some suggestions about this, including varying the sizes of the photos and overlapping, which I did.  She recommended keeping my navigation buttons grouped, so I reorganized those.  I right-aligned my copyright at her suggestion.  She also recommended that I enlarge the logo and try overlapping it with the top photo.  I did enlarge it, but the effect of the overlap wasn’t working so I didn’t do that.

Color Scheme: Monochromatic (green)

Font: Segoe UI- Sans Serif (Bold and Regular)

Images: All images were downloaded from pixabay, which are copyright-free and require no attribution.  I chose this route since the web design is part of a commercial endeavor for my husband.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Web Page Layout

  1. Chris, I like the way your layout turnout. I think you and your husband have come up with a great idea for a webpage and I would be interested in following it if you get it up and going. I love that you used the colors from the picture for your page by grabbed different shades of green directly from the peppers. I think you have done a great job with your layout and connecting all the parts together to send your message. Great Job. I can’t wait to see your next project.
    You should check our Mary’s final layout. She has done a great job as well. Here is a link to her page if you choose to go to it https://marysblog2016.wordpress.com/2016/03/17/web-page/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

